A New Project

8 Aug

I finished the scrappy Trip Around the World top and placed it in the “TO BE QUILTED” closet.

Looks lighter towards the front because of my camera and poor lighting in my living room.  It's really not.

Looks lighter towards the front because of my camera and poor lighting in my living room. It’s really not.

I don’t love it – but it’s done.  Done is always good.

My 12yo went to JoAnn’s with me a while back and “fell in love” with a jelly roll of polka dots.  “Fell in love” is in quotes because she falls in love with a lot of fabrics and then nothing comes of that project.  Last night we sat down and tried to figure out the pattern that she also “fell in love with”. It’s called “Pinwheel Paradise” and it’s in the book “Jelly Roll Dreams”.  It had the funkiest instructions I ever did see. I just couldn’t get my head around the cutting.  So I made up a sample block which took forever.  I didn’t like their pressing instructions and so I made up a second block and pressed the seams open.  It went smoother and I now understand the cutting instructions.  This morning I couldn’t sleep so I got up at 4am and made a third block.  I timed myself and it took 50 minutes to make the block.  The blocks don’t seem that difficult but there is a lot of planning involved – no speed piecing.  I like this kind of work – one block at a time.

Enough of the verbage.  Get to the picture already.

????????What’s the finished quilt top supposed to look like?

This picture is a bit distorted/squished.  But you get the idea.

This picture is a bit distorted/squished. But you get the idea..

And by the way – the jelly roll we bought at JoAnn’s?  It is not only poor quality fabric but cut no where near 2.5″ widths!  I’m supplementing with a lot of my own fabrics.  I should have expected as much.  If you’ve ever purchased a kit from them, it’s the same way.  Poor quality and poor workmanship in the cutting.  Oh well.  Usable for a kid’s quilt.

EDIT:  CRAP!  I have a mistake in block #3 on the right.  One of the half square triangles (upper right) is facing the wrong way!

4 Responses to “A New Project”

  1. domichcreations August 8, 2013 at 10:20 AM #

    Gina You do such nice work. i enjoy following you on here to see what is next. I make baby quilts & wedding items. I enjoy creating & designing Donna Su

  2. Sarah August 8, 2013 at 4:37 PM #

    Boy, if you are unhappy with that Trip Around the World, feel free to send it my way. LOL! I think it’s great! The new quilt is a beauty.

  3. Anne Wiens August 8, 2013 at 7:51 PM #

    I don’t mean to laugh, but I feel better knowing I’m not the only one who spots the mistake only after I have posted the “ta-da!” photo. :0)

    • ginaquilts August 8, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

      All the time, Anne. All the time!

Leave a comment