School

19 Aug

School has begun for DJ, Gianna, and me. We all started on Monday and seem to be off to a good start. 

DJ moved in on Saturday. He likes his classes and is very excited about his programming class. It’s in Java (which I teach for my college). He’s programmed a bit in Java before and I think he will take off in this area. He’s got great logic and has really enjoyed programming in the past.

Gianna is a freshman and seems to be adjusting. Only one other boy from her grade school is attending this school. She knows some girls from softball teams she has played on. She joined the golf team – there are only 5 girls total on the team. The girls are nice and are taking her under their wing to show her the ropes of golf team play. She is “okay” at golf and seems to be holding her own at practices so far. Subject-wise – she has homework in every subject. That’s very different than her previous school where she rarely had homework. 

Me? I’m doing alright too. I put in a lot of work in July and August prepping for my classes. I have a lot of new or newly-formatted classes. I think the summer work is going to pay off.

On the knitting front, I have about 30 rows of the shawl left to do.

  
It doesn’t look like much because it’s all bunched up but will be a nice large shawl when done.

I bought a new book detailing different top-down and toe-up toes and heels. I started to experiment.

  
The toe doesn’t look that much different than my usual toe, but it’s supposed to fit better for my angled toe-line. Here is the finished sock.

  
Simple and functional.

I am spinning away at the last of the alpaca fleece. All is carded and I’m down to my last bag to spin.  I will get eight hanks of about four ounces each from the fleece in total. Half will go to the farmer and I get to keep half. I already have a hat/glove pattern in mind for my half. 

Leave a Reply

