Long hiatus 

20 Jul

I haven’t been blogging because it’s the same old same old here!

Working on my socks – but not too often so there’s not much progress.

  
On the spinning front, I have all the alpaca fiber washed and 5 skeins completely spun, plyed, and set. I estimate  I’ll  get 9 total skeins so I think I’ve passed the halfway point.  

I’ve been fighting off a glut muscle tightness that’s preventing me from golfing and doing too much activity. It comes and goes. Dan thinks it’s a repetitive stress injury from too much spinning. Some days I’m sitting on ice and using a TENS unit and some days I can hardly feel any tightness.  I’ve looked up some yoga stretches that I’m going to start to do. Maybe that will help.

And finally I’ve started back to work. Well, kinda work. 😊 Once a week for two hours I’m teaching simple programming to a group of 8-12 year-olds from Mexico City. I try to practice speaking Spanish with them but honestly, their English is fantastic. They probably laugh at how old I am and am not bilingual. I think we are failing our American youth by not introducing a second language early in their lives. I now wish I had emphasized language learning in my kids. 

 Besides that, I’m going into my office 2-3 times a week to prep for the fall classes. I get more done at my office a couple hours a day than I do if I stayed home. Something about that feeling of “this is where you work” versus “this is where you play” allows me to be more productive. 

That’s it.  This week calls for more of the same!

One Response to “Long hiatus ”

  1. meganb1977 July 20, 2015 at 8:06 AM #

    I agree that American schools don’t do enough as far as teaching a second language!

Leave a Reply

