I Am Alive

12 Jun

I had a rough dental appointment on Tuesday. I had a tooth with a crown break at the root and it needed to be removed.  I won’t give you the gory details but let’s just say that it was worse than child birth and I lost two days of my life. I rarely get the pain killer prescription filled, but this time I needed it to get through the first night. The painkillers (or the ordeal) made me sick to my stomach so I had another day of bed rest because I was nauseous and dizzy.

But now I’m alive and well and don’t want to go through that ever again!  

I’ve been spinning away. This is what my bathroom looks like right now.

  
That’s about 600 yards of handspun in DK weight and a small bag of washed fiber all waiting to dry on this wet, rainy Frday morning. I just looked up cardigan patterns on Ravelry and apparently I’m going to need at least 1400 yards for a sweater. So I’m not at the halfway point yet but I have plenty of fiber to process yet.

This bag of fiber I just washed is smaller this normal because I’m trying something new. I read on a Ravelry group that you are supposed to soak your fiber overnight to loosen all the dirt and debris. Then scald twice and rinse. This fiber has a lot of VM (vegetable matter) that’s trapped in the locks and I’m hoping this helps loosen and wash it away better. The author of the post assured me/us/the readers that it would not felt going from cold to hot like that. So I grabbed a handful and tried it. I’ll let you know if the fiber is cleaner or the same (or ruined). 

Leave a Reply

