Another Spinning Project

24 Apr

I picked up this “peculiar” fiber at a recent trip to a fiber shop.

 
I say its peculiar because it is 80% llama, 10% merino and 10% silk. It’s the llama that’s unusual. Huacaya alpaca and Suri alpaca are common fibers, but I always heard llama was not fiber that people spun with. So I thought, “What the heck? I need to try this!” 

It’s spinning up easily enough.

  

It’s really hairy like mohair. I don’t know how I’d like it around my neck in a scarf, so I think I will two-ply it and make gloves and a headband out of it eventually.  

Leave a Reply

