Rambouillet Targhee Fleece

20 Apr

I purchased a lamb’s fleece from a farmer in Montana a month ago. It was a Rambouillet Targhee cross and was priced at a great $25 for the entire fleece. I can’t remember the weight but I thought it was a great deal. However…. There’s always a however…. I paid $18 shipping – bringing the cost up to $43. And, because it’s the fleece of a lamb, it’s full of vegetation – heavier than most full grown fleece. I washed about 4 oz last night, but need to rewash some of it because it did not get all the way clean. I got up early this morning and picked and carded what was dry and ready and it came out beautiful! Here are raw and combed pictures.

 

Rambouillet is supposed to be the French version of merino. This fleece is softer than anything I’ve worked with yet. I’m just going to have to be patient and realize that I’m going to have to take my time and it will be worth it in the long run. 

Leave a Reply

