More Knitting and Spinning

14 Feb

My teal merino mittens that match my headband are finally finished.

IMG_0870
I would have preferred gloves over mittens but the yarn was too bulky for that. Mittens will do for dog walking!

I’ve picked out a scarf pattern for the black alpaca. The yarn is dense and heavy and, let’s not forget, BLACK so I wanted something that would lighten it up in both weight and color. I chose the Mammoth Mill Infinity Scarf. Here is the stock picture of how it will turn out.

IMG_0871

I started to knit the scarf with the Size 11 needles that the pattern called for, but woke up this morning and ripped out what I had done and dropped to size 10 needles instead.

IMG_0860

The blue yarn is a provisional cast-on which will be taken out and grafted to the end for a loop-like infinity scarf. Gianna said, “I’d wear that!” when she saw it, so I had better keep tabs on it when it’s finished.

I did a lot of spinning this week. I spin singles for BFL and Southdown. Unfortunately, I mixed the singles up when plying! So I have two long skeins of BFL/ Southdown mix. Probably 350 yards of 2-ply.

IMG_0857

I think that will be fine. I have no idea if you can mix fibers like that or not. I also have two skeins of 3-ply of the BFL (top) and Southdown (bottom).

IMG_0858

The Southdown is very soft but kind of tough for me to spin. The BFL… Well, I’ve had that in my stash for over a year. That’s the first yarn I tried to spin on a spindle and on the DoDec wheel. I struggled terribly with it every time I attempted to use it. But after watching a video this week about drafting techniques and having so much practice since purchasing the new wheel, the BFL was quite easy to spin and went very smoothly.

I have more fiber coming that I hope to dye then spin but… It will NOT be here this weekend! Crud! I will knit my supply of spun yarn and I do have about 6 oz of merino in blue and purple that can be spun if I need a fix. 😊

2 Responses to “More Knitting and Spinning”

  1. bsburgess February 14, 2015 at 10:06 AM #

    I really like that scarf pattern. You’re definitely on a knitting and spinning frenzy!

  2. dakuffel@comcast.net February 14, 2015 at 9:15 PM #

    Where did you find the directions for the headband?

Leave a Reply

