Manitou

8 Feb

I am almost done spinning and plying the black fiber from the alpaca named Manitou.

IMG_0834
8 ounces of fiber turned into 3 bobbins of singles.

IMG_0835
Those singles yield three hanks of yarn (3-ply) totaling 7.2oz and approximately 203 yards.

IMG_0839
Even though I weighed the fiber and thought I had three even batches, I have this left over.

IMG_0838
I will probably Navajo-ply those singles into more three ply for a few more yards!

By the way, my husband made me that Lazy Kate that you see in the last picture! He’s a sweetie! I was using a shoe box before and I liked the horizontal feed. We looked some pictures up on the Internet and this is the design he came up with! I love it and he did a great job with some maple and poplar wood pieces. He’s amazing and very good to me. I’ve got him looking at a next project already! 😊😘

The yarn pictures are prior to the soak-and-whack. They are soaking now and will hang to dry.

One Response to “Manitou”

  1. bsburgess February 9, 2015 at 7:34 PM #

    Wow, that’s a great Lazy Kate! It looks like you bought it. Great job, Dan.

Leave a Reply

