Ugh!

24 Jan

How I Work On Socks
When I knit socks, I knit the cuff of one, put it aside, then knit the cuff of the other. I proceed to the leg of one, put it aside, knit the other…..etc

I need to explain this to you, readers, before showing you this picture.

2015/01/img_0788.jpg

How could I NOT tell that the two socks were vastly different?

In the back of my head, I thought, hmm m…. A lot of red in this yarn. But once I put that sock away and got out the other, a night had passed or a day of work. And I seem to forget what the other sock looked like!

How did this happen?
When we dyed the yarn with those spots, we hanked up 90g of yarn continuously and secured it all together. Then we splattered dye randomly on one side, flipped it and did the same for the other side. Evidently one of us was heavy-handed on the red dye on one side and not the other. If I was thinking, I should have hanked the yarn with two 45g pieces held together. Then it would have been more evenly dyed. One side would still have had more red, but that red would have shown up consistently on both sock feet or legs. OR maybe I should have had a better, more controlled plan of how to do this so-called “randomness” pattern.

Now what? I don’t want to finish these. I want to throw out the yarn and be done with it. I love the sock pattern and will knit it in the future. But these socks? Getting frogged! But I might try to over dye the yarn and see what the results are. Maybe… But for now this project is in official hibernation!

2 Responses to “Ugh!”

  1. bsburgess January 24, 2015 at 9:15 AM #

    I think you should finish the socks. I don’t see that big of a problem with them and I will wear them 🙂 Remember your earlier comment of “they’re just socks that are hidden under pants.”?

  2. Nancy January 24, 2015 at 12:56 PM #

    I hate when that happens. I have learned I don’t like and never will like random anything!!
    Have stopped trying new random techniques of any kind.
    Love your blog and seeing all your fun projects.
    You are an inspiration.
    Hugs from sunny South Carolina,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

