Spinning and Podcasts

14 Jan

I’m really into podcasts. I listen to them in the car on the way back and forth to work and when taking DJ back to school. There are so many that I love – some for their story telling and some for education. I’ve started listening to podcasts while spinning too. The two activities go very well together.

Which podcasts? Well, the podcast listeners around the country were obsessed for the past few months with a podcast called “Serial”. It was a weekly story about a man in prison for killing his girlfriend. Did he do it? It was well told and very intriguing. Listen to that one first- you will be hooked after the first episode. Other favorites:
– radio lab
– TED radio hour
– criminal
– the moth

The Moth is my current favorite. It has 3 short stories – true stories – told by people in a stand up setting. LOVE IT. They are wonderful stories – sad and funny and just well told.

Spinning – I’m not knitting but just spinning each night so far this week. I signed up for a Fiber Club. The company sends me a different fiber selection(s) each month to spin. This month was 4 oz of Dorset. And I have to say I don’t like it. It’s full of vegetation that I have to constantly pick out and is very scratchy. It’s supposed to wear like iron and I believe it. But what will I knit from it? So after spinning up half of it, I decided to spin 2 oz of BFL that I had from when I was determined to learn to spin on my homemade wheel and spindle. Here are both singles.

2015/01/img_0750.jpg

2015/01/img_0748.jpg
They look pretty similar but feel much different. Do my dilemma is: do I ply one of each together to try to cut down on the scratchiness of the Dorset? I asked a beginning Ravelry group if that would work. I got the answer of “maybe – try it”. The BFL is really soft so on the one hand I think, ” why ruin a soft yarn trying to soften up this coarse stuff.” Mittens or a hat with the Dorset would probably be fine. So I don’t know. I think it over tonight so I can start plying this weekend for sure.

2 Responses to “Spinning and Podcasts”

  1. Picnic Locations in Gurgaon January 15, 2015 at 12:07 AM #

    This is the precise weblog for anybody who needs to seek out out about this topic. You notice so much its almost arduous to argue with you. You positively put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

  2. nonniequiltingdreams January 15, 2015 at 3:51 PM #

    https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/update-to-the-podcast-list-september-29-2014/ >>. HERE is a link to all the quilting podcast I know of … some professional >> some just amateurs that like to connect ..
    .
    .

Leave a Reply

