Finished Hat

7 Jan

image_medium2 image_medium1

This hat caused me more grief than necessary. I had to start it three times. The first time I got about halfway through and realized that it was not going to fit our heads comfortably. We have huge heads! I ripped it out and went up a size on the pattern to an Adult Large. Then it was OF COURSE way too big.  Ripped out again and went back to the original Adult Medium size but went up a needle size.  Perfect fit.  However, a hat that should have taken a few hours took all day and then some.  But in the end, it was worth it.  It fits all of us beautifully and is squishy and sooooo soft.

This is the worst spinning job I’ve done so far. It’s very thick and thin, tightly spun and not spun at all in spots.  I changed techniques. I thought it was producing a better consistency, but it did not. I’m glad I knit this hat up right away with the yarn so I could gauge how the yarn turned out.  I will go back to my original method of short draw for the next spinning project. This learning curve is very long. I should be better by now. Ugh.  On a positive note, the hat doesn’t look bad. It looks like a rustic yarn.  And it’s wearable. If I would have had to throw the yarn away because it wasn’t knittable (Not a word – I know), then it would have been bad. But I’m chalking it up to a lesson learned.

It’s below zero and 20+ degrees below zero with the wind chill today. We are all home since school was cancelled for Gianna.  DJ never has school cancelled since he lives just yards from the school.  He has boots and a warm hat and coat so I hope he is wearing them in his short trek to the school.

2 Responses to “Finished Hat”

  1. Anne Wiens January 7, 2015 at 12:04 PM #

    I love the pattern!

  2. bsburgess January 7, 2015 at 4:32 PM #

    The hat looks great. Love the pattern!

Leave a Reply

