It Is Turning Out Great!

13 Dec

So my disaster with the dyed sock blank? It turned out to be a great mistake. I was able to get all the excess dye out with a lot of rinsing and squeezing. I hung it up to dry overnight and this afternoon pulled out the bind off and started a pair of socks to see how they would turn out. Nothing like I expected but absolutely great nonetheless!

IMG_0646.JPG
This picture is pretty darned close to the actual color. The dye “broke” which means that it separated into aquas and purples and royal blues. It’s gorgeous! The bits of white you see in the toes are from where the dye didn’t penetrate the bind off of the blank. I love it! It looks like part of the plan. Since the resulting fabric is so busy, I chose a simple pattern called “Jeck”. It’s a faux-rib / slip-stitch pattern that is simple but may show up a wee bit once I get more knitted. I’m knitting right off the sock blank. I tried the two-socks-at-a-time-on-two-needles thing. I just couldn’t swing it. I like my method so I’ll stick with that. 😊

In other news…. I bought a spinning wheel today. 💖

More on that news tomorrow!

2 Responses to “It Is Turning Out Great!”

  1. susanssnippets December 13, 2014 at 7:42 PM #

    Really rich and nice color!

  2. bsburgess December 13, 2014 at 9:14 PM #

    A spinning wheel! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

