Spinning Update

29 Nov

The spinning class went well….I think. It’s hard to tell if I’m making progress or just making bad yarn faster. But I can tell you that it’s lots of fun. And I’m going to need more fiber, fast.

The instructor let me borrow the wheel I liked the best. It’s an Ashford Traveler and it’s awesome.

IMG_0623.JPG

I also tried a portable Ashford wheel but didn’t love it.

I’m spinning Shetland wool and it looks good on the bobbin.

IMG_0622.JPG
However, it’s got thick and thin spots. I’m trying not to be Ms. Perfectionist and trying to remember that it’s only the first day. But that’s hard.

I’ve learned that I need to relax. The fiber stops fighting you when you stop fighting it. I’ve learned that Shetland is easier to spin than the Blue-faced Leicester that I bought on eBay. The BFL makes some really good rope, but I can’t seem to get it nice and thin like I want. I haven’t tried any other fibers yet. If Shetland is the easiest, then I will spin Shetland til I get the hang of it. I haven’t plied yet. That’s the next class. Or tomorrow depending on how brave I get to try it on my own. Finally, I’ve learned that the wheel I’m using now is a Cadillac compared to my homemade wheel! I find that if I’m not fighting the fiber AND the wheel, I can concentrate on even tension and breathing. Breathing is good….

2 Responses to “Spinning Update”

  1. Three Cedars Irish Dexters November 29, 2014 at 9:05 PM #

    Hang in there! I’d love to see how you progress. Kinda envious. I have always wanted to learn how to spin! Best of good luck!

  2. bsburgess November 30, 2014 at 9:51 AM #

    Cool!

Leave a Reply

