A Couple Of Projects

22 Oct

I’ve started knitting a new pair of socks.

IMG_0578.JPG

I don’t know what pattern they will be yet. I’ve got 64 stitches in those toes so I’ll have to browse my sock patterns for a stitch that’s repeatable by 4s or 8s. The yarn is a nice blue – I believe it’s Cascade sock yarn. I always work on two socks at a time – but separately. So I knit one toe, stop, knit the other. I find that I don’t have second sock syndrome (for non-knitters that’s where you make one sock and then either don’t get around to the second sock or it takes FOREVER). I also like that it sets mini-goals that I can reach. These socks will take a while because knitting time is hard to find these days.

Last night I blocked a “Brickless” scarf that I knitted up a while ago but just didn’t block.

IMG_0580.JPG

I didn’t get around to blocking it because it wasn’t scarf season! But now that fall is upon us, I want to wear this new creation! The yarn was a purchase I made last December when DJ sat for the SAT test to get into IMSA and I hit the two yarn stores in Bloomington , IL. The brand is “Mountain Colors Crazyfoot” in color way “Harmoney Aspen”. The color is rich and the yarn was squishy and nice. However, it bled like a son-of-a-gun when I soaked it. The pattern called for worsted weight yarn and size 6 needles. I used fingering weight (although it seemed a bit closer to sport weight – so I’ll call it a heavy fingering weight) with a size 5 needles. The pattern called for 6 total repeats and I did 5. I like the size and weight of it. I do believe I’ll make this scarf again sometime.

2 Responses to “A Couple Of Projects”

  1. atangledyarn84 October 22, 2014 at 7:25 AM #

    I do my socks the same way!

  2. bsburgess October 22, 2014 at 8:53 AM #

    the scarf look great!

Leave a Reply

