The New Simple Quilt

2 Aug

Oh my, I’m having fun! I love the creative process even in making simple quilts.

So yesterday, I showed this picture.

20140802-085908-32348150.jpg

I decided to go with piecing this quilt while I wait for my Flowering Snowballs template and batting for Gianna’s quilt to come in. I grabbed my 2 1/2″ bin and brought it upstairs to sort through the contents.

20140802-090049-32449929.jpg

I thought it might look good to sort by color and have all the rectangles around a square to be of the same color – but not the same fabric.

20140802-090149-32509100.jpg

Hence these piles came into being. The two in front represent lights and “what color is this?” Piles. Those are the biggest as you can see! I think the color coordinated quilt would look great and even designed a rainbow gradient version of the original. But in the end, I figured that this is just a quickie quilt to use up 2 1/2″ strips so I can close that bin, so I’ll use up everything in no particular order.

Then I did the unthinkable for me. I went downstairs and ironed and cut all the fabric out for the 64 blocks! I never do that. I cut a few – see how I like it. Cut a few more, etc. But no, I cut and cut and cut. And I used a whole lot of 2 1/2″ strips up. Enough that I can close my bin at least. And I started sewing. They are just 9-patches so they go quickly (I think technically they are puss in the corner blocks).

I did not cut the sashing though. As I’m sewing I started thinking about the sashing. This morning after my walk, I played with the design a bit.

20140802-090958-32998325.jpg

The bottom right is the original with 2 1/2″ dark sashing. But I also tried 2 1/2″ light sashing, and 1 1/2″ light and dark sashing. I kind of like the skinny light sashing to be honest. Isn’t it funny how a few changes make all the difference in the overall appearance? Since I didn’t cut the sashing out yet, I have a few days to decide. Which one do you like best?

One Response to “The New Simple Quilt”

  1. Mom August 3, 2014 at 9:55 AM #

    I like the top right. It just popped out right away.

Leave a Reply

