Playing Around

30 Jul

Now that Gianna’s quilt top so done, I went downstairs to clean up my sewing space. And play a bit.

I have this love hate relationship with curved piecing. I love the way it looks but cannot for the life of me figure out how to do it accurately and not get really frustrated with it. Recently I saw on Molly Flander’s Makerie blog a “Flowering Snowball” project. I love her project and the other participants in the sew-a-long. She claims the curve is gentle and easy enough to sew. This is what I played with last night.

20140730-092957-34197061.jpg

This is a 12″ block. I printed it from EQ7 and made templates out of freezer paper. Then I used some scraps from a bin that needs to be cut up and tried to piece it together. I was fairly successful as you can see in the picture above. I say “fairly” because it’s a bit wonky when I lay a 12 1/2″ ruler over the top. But for a first attempt, I’ll take it. I will have to buy the rotary cutting templates though. Drawing the shapes on the fabric and cutting them out was a pain in the butt. I might put this on my list of things to make in the future.

This one too.

20140730-093427-34467409.jpg

This is from a Martingale book “Confident Quilter”. I like it.

Dj has been playing around too. He’s spent the past week composing songs using the Garage Band software. I like what he’s done so far. When he gets a song finished, I’ll post the YouTube link here. And yes, I do find it ironic that my math and science student has spent his summer listening to history podcasts and composing music. :-). He’s a Renaissance Man for sure!

Okay, off to work for a while then this afternoon I am going to piece Anne W.’s block for our July swap. Last minute but it’s still July!

Leave a Reply

