Overwhelmed

23 Jul

Starting back to school is getting closer and it’s bringing on anxiety. Although I work all summer long, it’s at a very relaxed pace – an hour or two a day. This time of year, I start wishing it was 3-4 hours so I would feel like I am sitting better walking into the classroom. Now, I still have 3 weeks left, but there is a lot to do. So, today I start by making lists and kicking out the tasks one by one. I won’t feel so overwhelmed if I just buckle down and put my nose to the grindstone!

I spent the past two days at a conference / workshop on cybersecurity. It was good. Like all conferences, the sessions are hit and miss. Even though the conference was in Illinois, it took 2 hours to drive there in “city” traffic, so I booked a hotel room and stayed one night. What to do in a hotel room by yourself? Watch Forest Gump on Netflix and knit.

20140723-073857-27537376.jpg
I don’t like the socks that I had started so I brought the bag of leftover sock yarn with the intention of starting another pair of monster socks. Instead, I came across this pattern for making mitered squares and joining them as you go. The squares are slightly over 2″ so I don’t see this as a project that will ever get finished into a real blanket! But it was busy hotel room work. Very mindless and enjoyable. And, as you can see, I have over 20 squares with no repeats. I know I have at least another half dozen more yarns to add before I will have to repeat any! I make a lot of scarves and socks! No matter how many of these odds and ends projects I tackle, that bag of leftover yarn never seems to get smaller…

Leave a Reply

