Bowtie Border

18 May

I’m jumping between projects like a kangaroo.  I still have the Baltimore Garden applique project going on. I’m on the third block there and making very slow progress.  I have those red blocks on the design wall.  I can’t seem to design something in EQ7 for it, so I’m going to have to resort to old fashioned graph paper and a pencil for that baby.  And I have the bowtie quilt top.  Now that one can be done because it’s 66 x 74″.  But I don’t need another lap quilt.  I have them coming out my ears.  So I’ve been designing borders to add to make it queen sized.  I like this one so far.

bowtie border

I got more of the red fabric from Hobby Lobby.  It is, of course, a different dye lot.  But I think with the checkerboard border separating the old from the new, it will look okay.  These scrappy Sister’s Choice star blocks will fit in nicely with the scrappiness of the center.  I just need to make 34 of them.  Piece of cake, right?  Sounds like a leader and ender project made of 2 1/2″ squares and strips. It might take all summer, but that stinking top will get done!

Leave a Reply

