Music

2 Mar

I’m still alive but getting stressed out because I have too many irons in the fire. (Note: spellcheck changed irons to morons. That might work too!)

Music is taking center stage in the kids’ lives right now. Gianna has been frantically prepping for a music contest that was held this past Saturday. She played (and was judged) on a variation of Canon in D on the piano. She nailed it and received a first for her piece. Her band then played three numbers. Two of the three I enjoyed a lot. The other – I didn’t care for. But let me say that her band has improved so much over the past two years. Her grade school has gone through a rough patch with band directors and has had 4 in 5 years. But I like this guy. I don’t know if he’s good or not, but he is poring his heart into it and the kids are improving tremendously. One cool thing: her band could not be judged this weekend because they have two violins and a piano (Gianna) in it. I guess you can’t have strings in a concert band. But he has them in there because otherwise those three kids would not be in band. Why not grow their love for music? I like that. The band was still able to play but for comments only. That’s what he wanted – feedback to improve.

DJ is preparing to go to Disney with his band. He spent a good amount of time Saturday learning to march. They’ve never done that before. Then today, he spent 2 hours practicing with the pit orchestra for the school musical “The Sound of Music”. About an hour into it, he called me and said he was in over his head and thought he should bow out. The rest of the musicians are professionals. But during the second half, a good – really good – trumpet player took DJ under his wing and gave him pointers and tips. It renewed his confidence and he’s going to stick it out with lots of practice and lessons.

What about knitting and quilting? Not much of that going on. I finished the socks.

20140302-202433.jpg

I started and finished a cowl with chunky yarn. It was a very short project. It’s blocking now and I’ll try to get pictures tomorrow or the next day. I hated the yarn – Casablanca by Cascades. I usually love their yarn but I didn’t like anything about this stuff. Used the whole skein with only 2 yards left at most.

What will this week bring us? Better weather I hope! And some down time for relaxing a bit more!

2 Responses to “Music”

  1. nsturgill March 2, 2014 at 10:57 PM #

    Quilting, knitting, and music….life can’t get any better!

  2. bsburgess March 3, 2014 at 4:10 PM #

    Morons…too funny!

Leave a Reply

