Quick Update

11 Feb

The sweater is coming along fine but again this week, I don’t have much time to knit, or sew, or do much of anything! I worked yesterday then attended one of DJ’s scholastic bowl meets. He played well, but they lost. They just couldn’t ring in quite as quickly as the other team. This past Saturday, they won a tournament so that was pretty cool. They’ve got some bright (and really nice) kids on the team. They all have their own little niche of knowledge, so that’s what makes them good.

Today I work and then will attend Gianna’s scholastic bowl meet. Immediately following that, we head to her softball practice. That’s two days in a row where I leave for work at 8am and get back home at 8pm. But tomorrow I only have work and a club meeting, so I can relax on and knit all night long.

I was super crabby on Sunday so I spent some “me time” in the basement sewing.

20140211-062903.jpg

This is a grainy iPad picture but it serves the purpose. I pieced together another row of bow ties but haven’t added it to the big triangle yet. Those blocks on the left? I’m not going to lie – they are a new “project”. I saw this quilt on someone’s blog.

20140211-063049.jpg

And I started thinking about how simple but stunning it looked. Since I’m pulling 2″ strips for the bow tie blocks, why not sew some of those strips together and work on two projects at once? Bow ties seem to go faster when I’m not solely concentrating on them. Or at least that was my justification… But I’ll need a lot of blocks to make that quilt shown. Over 200. The 2″ strip bin is overflowing so I can make a stab at getting a bunch done in my spare time.

6:30am – but we have to leave the house for jazz band practice already. Gianna schedule is nuts!

2 Responses to “Quick Update”

  1. bsburgess February 11, 2014 at 5:28 PM #

    Awesome rail fence quilt! Keep going:)

  2. Nancy February 12, 2014 at 2:09 PM #

    Onward Gina,

    Love to see and hear all about your family and your creative endeavors.

    Nancy in Snowy SC

Leave a Reply

