Cry With Me

3 Feb

I had to rip out my legs.

Of my socks.

Not my real legs, of course. I had one sock all done including the heel. Then I tried it on. Pathetic color work on the leg made it so difficult to get over my heel.

20140204-060607.jpg

Specifically the white/blue zigzag and the blue/gray awesome design towards the top. I had Gianna try it on since she is the one who is going to wear them, and they were snug on her. I didn’t want them to rip so I bit the bullet and unraveled one entire leg.

20140204-060824.jpg

Now for the solution. The tightest spot was the zigzag. It was too close to the fattest part of the heel and leg. So no color work there. Plus in the new gray stripe, I increased two stitches. And in the next stripe, I’ll increase another two. Since I’m knitting at 9 stitches to the inch, that will give me almost 1/2″ more right away at this biggest part. Then I’ll throw in some color work and try on again.

In the meantime, I have to rip out the other leg tonight to keep them even. So sad to have all that work down the drain. Live and learn, right?

2 Responses to “Cry With Me”

  1. domichcreations February 4, 2014 at 6:37 AM #

    Gina , I make baby quilts,wedding pillows ,& more. I have sympathy for you It can be frustrating when things go wrong after all that work.Keep up the good work I enjoy your items Donna Su

  2. mosaicthinking February 4, 2014 at 3:30 PM #

    You gotta do it. Happens to all of us.

Leave a Reply

