Friday Follies

31 Jan

We are still dieting – staying strong since the beginning of the year. I’m finally down to pre-Thanksgiving weight. But I have 7 pounds to go to “Weight Watcher goal” weight. DJ is dieting with us. At his last asthma doctor’s visit, the doctor suggested that he trim 10-15 off his weight. The doctor likes the Weight Watchers’ program too. My mom has been a WW groupie forever and when she turned Mia and I onto it, we are convinced it’s the best “eat-right-make-good-choices” plan out there. Dj has dropped about 3 pounds. He has it rougher than me because he eats school lunches and is on the road with Scholastic Bowl, pep band, etc. but he’s doing the best he can.

I couldn’t sleep last night so I started a pair of monster socks.

20140131-113053.jpg

What are monster socks? These are socks that you knit using scraps from previously knitted socks. No pattern and they don’t have to match. (Mine do so far though.) I weigh the yarn and I figured out that 1g of yarn = 4 rows. So if I have 5g of yarn, I knit about 10 rows on one sock, then break the yarn and knit the same on the second sock. I throw in an easy color work pattern every now and then although it really slows me down because I’m rusty at color work.

You don’t have to limit your colors – everything but the kitchen sink can go into them. But I decided to go with blues, grays, purples, teal… No reds or browns. I obviously like those colors because here’s what I pulled from my stash.

20140131-113459.jpg

Okay – there might be some greens in there too. 😊

It’s very addicting. I have to bury the yarn ends as I go along because otherwise it’s a tangled mess and it would take forever to do it at the end.

Leave a Reply

