Start-itis

21 Jan

I’ve come down with a case of startitis. I want to start another knitting project before my TWO are done… I want to start a new quilt top even though I have a gazillion in the works. I’ve been pinning quilts on Pinterest like it’s going out of style. I want to hand quilt, hand piece, hand applique, hand knit. But there only so much time in a day sitting on my behind and I fear carpal tunnel from too much repetition. Ugh…

Much to my sister’s chagrin, I’m once again drawn to hexagon quilts. I love that shape. (Sonia hates hexagon quilts almost as much as we both hate Sunbonnet Sue).

I keep coming to this 1840 quilt.

20140121-160304.jpg

I’ve shown this before on my blog. I don’t know what I like so much about this. There are better hexagon quilts, I’m sure. But I keep coming back to this one. I can piece it with 1″ or 3/4″ hexagons with the Inklingo method because I already own those patterns. I can purchase 1/2″ but that’s just nuts. Too small. I even went as far as designing the center using Electric Quilt. I really like this pattern.

On the knitting front, I’m at the point of dividing the front and back to begin the chest and back sections. That’s the halfway point for me! Yippee!

5 Responses to “Start-itis”

  1. bsburgess January 21, 2014 at 7:34 PM #

    Hexagon quilt…that’s just nuts!

  2. Dawn January 22, 2014 at 6:22 AM #

    I hear you on the start-it is. On my blog I decided to grab a block UFO and make a relaxing robin quilt. it is a round robin that you do all the parts. it is fun and challenging and gave me a new feeling for that unloved block.
    that hexagon quilt would kill me! many many parts…..a UFO in the making for sure for me.

  3. Robin January 22, 2014 at 5:32 PM #

    I always love hearing someone else who isn’t a Sunbonnet Sue fan. My sister and I have always wanted to make a quilt called “Godzilla invites Sunbonnet Sue to lunch”. The quilt would be Godzilla chomping away at Sue. It always makes me chuckle just thinking about it. That hexagon quilt is quite amazing!!!

  4. Artfully Sew January 23, 2014 at 11:41 AM #

    I am notorious for starting something and not finishing. My goal this January was to finish all my ufos before starting something new. I’m doing pretty good so far. I have 2 quilt tops almost finished for quilting.

Leave a Reply

