The Next Sweater

24 Nov

Just like with quilting, you always have the next knitting project tumbling around your head even while the current one is still going on. Well, having finished Sweater #2, I’ve been designing Sweater #3. I’ve got two swatches I’m auditioning.

Swatch #1:

20131124-085512.jpg

This is a worsted weight lambswool in an oatmeal color. It’s from an unraveled thrift store sweater. I’ve got about 1050 yards and 440 grams of this yarn.

Swatch #2:

20131124-085724.jpg

This is a DK weight alpaca/wool blend. The color is habanero with lots of black and white tweed bits thrown in there. I have 1203 yards and 489 grams of this yarn.

I know I have enough of the habanero yarn to make the sweater but I’m not sure about the lambswool.

What design? Another cardigan but this time with a deeper v-neck. I envision that cable running up the front and curving with the neck line. I like the faux rib look on the lambswool. I tried that on the habanero swatch initially but it wasn’t showing up at all because of the busy-ness of the yarn itself. Maybe I didn’t give it enough rows and I should try that again on another swatch. I’d like to do a cable pattern up the back too to make my knitting more interesting. Stockinette stitching is not relaxing for me – it’s boring as heck.

Which one do you vote for?

2 Responses to “The Next Sweater”

  1. Sonia November 24, 2013 at 9:33 AM #

    I like the habanero color and the pattern. Awesome color!

  2. Nancy November 25, 2013 at 1:47 PM #

    I love Swatch 2. Cable in the back sounds like dynamite.

    Your sweater pattern was such a wonderful investment. Way to go Gina.

    I am excited to see your wonderful creations. One better than the next.

    Thanks you for the tutorial on unraveling the sweaters. Have 11 done and have many in the stash waiting for me.

    Now to the niddy noddy and washing. Then to the fun of knitting.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving,

    Nancy in SC

Leave a Reply

