So Proud; So Sad

8 Nov

Soapbox Time

We received the results of Gianna’s ISAT tests yesterday in Parent/Teacher Conferences.  They were stellar!  So proud of her.  She only missed ONE question on the reading portion, scoring highest in her class (according to her Language Arts/English teacher).  She did very well in math – only missing 4 of the 65 questions.  She scored what would equate to a 94%.   However, here are her classmates results:

School Average:  56%

State Average: 64%

So sad…  I’ve gotten on my soapbox numerous times in my blog and discussed how our school system is not teaching math.  They’ve gotten rid of textbooks and put iPads in their place.  iPads are great.  I love mine.  They do not replace textbooks – especially in math!  Last year, we disagreed with the school about how math was being taught and we purchased a textbook and began teaching our daughter at home.  That’s why her score was a 94%.  We have continued it through this year.  But what about the other 90+ students in her grade?  They missed out on an entire year of math.  They are going to miss out on this year also.  Oh, don’t get me wrong. They are still getting As and Bs on their report cards.  But look at that score.  So sad…

And, yes… my daughter will do fine.  We’ve taken matters into our own hands and she willingly sits in our living room for what is basically “home school lessons” a couple times a week.  What about the kids’ whose parents can’t (or won’t) take this time to teach their children at home?  What about the parents who expect the school system to teach their child math?  I was one of those with my older kids.  It never occurred to me otherwise.

I wrote a letter to a board member who is an acquaintance and asked her to look at the scores.  I asked if she would ask the administration to see if what they are doing with technology (iPads – no books) is working for every discipline.

I don’t think it is.

4 Responses to “So Proud; So Sad”

  1. Lee November 11, 2013 at 9:57 AM #

    I’m wondering about the score inclusions to the school and state averages. I have family in the Pacific Northwest, and apparently the schools there, at least in my cousins’ district, have special ed students mixed in with the general school population. When the tests are tabulated, the S.E. students’ scores are included across the board, which of course brings down the averages. Is that done there too? I am of the opinion, that that is not a fair or appropriate way to form averages.

    • ginaquilts November 11, 2013 at 10:30 AM #

      The special ed scores are included. However, they were included last year also and these same students are represented in both years. The class went down 14% from last year. This is the first time we’ve been below state average.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. gpicone November 29, 2013 at 3:49 PM #

    What state? What grade level? Just curious. I live in NJ and here we mostly teach to the test but that doesn’t help much with averages either.

    • ginaquilts November 29, 2013 at 6:10 PM #

      State:Illinois. Grade: test was taken in 6th grade. The school said the problem is with “Common Core”. It’s new and the teachers and students aren’t used to it yet. I’m not sure what the problem is. My gut says no books. But that seems to be the trend in all of our local schools and their scores didn’t go down as severely as ours did.

      >

Leave a Reply

