Just piddling

5 Nov

In between projects trying to figure out if I want to start a new sweater or a scarf or ?…

I went through my unraveled sweater yarn and found this.

20131105-193339.jpg

It’s a sport or DK weight and a pretty ugly color! See those Kool Aid packets? A little bath and…

20131105-193439.jpg

20131105-193453.jpg

5 stitches per inch with size 6 needles. I don’t know what kind of sheep this came from. The label just says 100% wool. It feels like Highland wool – a bit scratchy but not bad. Kind of like Cascades 220 or Knit Picks Wool of the Andes. From that swatch I would make a cardigan because I would always wear something else next to my skin so the itch factor wouldn’t come into play. I only dyed 100 grams last night and I’m dyeing 100 grams tonight. So that might be the next project on the list.

I also found this great lambswool and soaked it in a water bath to fluff it up a bit.

20131105-194157.jpg
I only have about 950 yards but I think it’s bulky yarn (heavier than worsted) so maybe that’s an option for a sweater?.. It’s really soft and cushy. I haven’t knit up a sample of that yet.

2 Responses to “Just piddling”

  1. bsburgess November 7, 2013 at 3:15 PM #

    Why the basted stitches in the patch?

    • ginaquilts November 7, 2013 at 6:09 PM #

      To count gauge. Number of stitches per inch.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

Leave a Reply

