Finished Custom Fit Sweater

4 Nov

????????

Okay – it’s not really finished.  I don’t have a bottom trim. I had planned on making a 1″ hem but I’m now debating on whether to do that or something different.  Plus my sleeve ends are a bit baggy.  I might put some elastic thread in the cuffs to tighten them up.

My evaluation of Custom Fit is a thumbs up.  An emphatic thumbs up in fact.  The sweater isn’t perfect. But it’s the best sweater I’ve made so far.  I think what I learned from both Amy Herzog’s Craftsy class and the Custom Fit pattern is that I have been making sweaters the wrong size.  I usually size the sweater according to my bust when I should be sizing them according to my upper chest measurement.  Besides that, I didn’t need to make a lot of alterations.  Sweater pattern makers make patterns for the “average woman” and my measurements are pretty close to the average woman evidently.

If I were to design/knit a v-neck again, I’d make it lower. And if I make a sweater with 3/4 length sleeves, I’d shorten them by 1.5″ and make them tapered instead of straight.

Now, what to do with that hem….

One Response to “Finished Custom Fit Sweater”

  1. bsburgess November 4, 2013 at 9:08 PM #

    That’s incredible! Looks great and I like the color. Nice with a pair of boots.

Leave a Reply

