Crap!

30 Oct

Frick! and other cuss words!  My 12yo helped me measure for my custom sweater and she misread the measuring tape for the armhole depth.  TWICE!  6″ should really be 9″.  I did the reasonableness test on all the measurements that she was reading off and, since I never/rarely knit in pieces (always knit in the round), I thought that sounded reasonable.  From armhole to waist was 7″ – so 6″ for the other measurement was reasonable.  NOPE…

I’m glad I caught it now.  How did I catch it?  Since I’ve finished the back and about 1/3 of the way up the front, I started surfing for my next sweater project.  🙂  I think I have an average shape and don’t need a lot of customization, so I started looking at a freebie cardigan and compared my custom sweater measurements to the new cardigan’s measurements.  All were different slightly but the shoulder to armhole depth was DRASTICALLY different.  So I kept researching.  Yep… My measurement is too small.

Okay – so two questions.

1) Is 9″ reasonable?  Well, the only sweater that fits me well AND that I knit in pieces is this one.

0061_mediumSorry for the cockeyed picture – again 12 year old photographer (then 10 year old since I made this sweater 2 years ago).  But this is a great fitting sweater.  However it’s slightly small in the arm hole area too.  I think it’s wearable though, because it’s lace and very stretchy and forgiving.  So I measured that sweater’s armhole depth and it’s 8″.  So 9″ for the worsted weight yarn thickness of the new sweater is probably dead on.  Maybe 8 3/4″ would be a good measurement.  I looked it up online and standard measurement for armhole depth is 8 1/2″.  So I think I’ll go in between at 8 3/4″ .  Or just keep with the 9″.

Question 2) Can’t I just do the math and add 2 3/4″ or 3″ to my existing pattern?  Yes – on the front and back. But I have no idea how to adjust the sleeve cap/upper sleeve.  I’m too much of a newbie at knitting in pieces to know how the cap of a sleeve is actually measured.  So what are my options?  Option 1: I can continue to research and try to fix it myself.  Which is fun and frustrating at the same time.  It will involve a lot of “unkitting”if it’s not right.  Option 2: I can pay an another $10 to generate another pattern with the correct measurements.   Since I am so frugal/cheap, I’d rather not pay the $10 if I can help it.  But what’s my time and frustration worth?  My fear is that this sweater won’t turn out and instead of being out only $10, I’ll now be out $20.  I’ll continue researching as much as I can until I get to the armpits on the front (which will be Friday I think).  Then, if I don’t have a definite solution, I’ll fork out the $10 and chalk it up to experience.

 

2 Responses to “Crap!”

  1. mosaicthinking October 30, 2013 at 5:58 PM #

    In pattern making I think the measurement you’re describing is called the armscye. Such a great word. Other than that I have no useful contributions to make.

    BTW, there’s nothing wrong with being frugal/cheap. If I were you (I’m also frugal/cheap) I’d press on without generating another pattern and then cuss even more if the project didn’t turn out. Good luck!!

    • ginaquilts October 30, 2013 at 6:20 PM #

      Someone in the Custom Fit Ravelry group suggested that I make the mods to the front and back then seam them together. Then knit the sleeves top down. I’ve done that before so I may give that a try. Thanks for the terminology. That makes my searching so much easier.

Leave a Reply

