Misc. Monday

28 Oct

There’s a lot of stuff going on this week for our family.

Sunday, DJ played in the Fall Music Concert at his high school.  It was VERY enjoyable.  After sitting through numerous band and chorus concerts in junior high, I was pleasantly surprised at how GOOD the band and chorus at his high school actually were!  I only got one crappy iPhone picture.

photo(1)He’s not that blurry in person. 🙂 But I had a bad angle and heaven forbid if I were to actually get up and move for a better shot!  The concert was only an hour long and that’s always nice – short and sweet.  The band played 4 songs including the National Anthem. When they first played the National Anthem at the first couple of football games… well, they sucked.  It’s a difficult song to play for the trumpets especially because of the range.  But they really nailed it on Sunday.

After the concert, Gianna and I went to get her haircut. Her hair is finally long enough to donate to Locks for Love and still have a little bit left.

photo(iPhone picture with much better lighting.)

Yep – there’s about 10 inches there.  She was kind of worried when her hair was still wet – would it look okay short?  I think it looks super!  I thought I might have enough to donate also, but I only have 6″.  Crap.  I don’t think I can keep going!  I’m too old for this long hair PITA.

I knitted too much yesterday.  I’m glad for work today so I didn’t over do it some more and have a repetitive stress injury.  I have about 3/4 of the back piece of the sweater done.  It’s boring stockinette stitch but she does put decreases in for the waist shaping and then increases back out for the shoulders.  So I have mini-goals to make which keeps it semi-interesting. I’m glad I chose a worsted weight yarn. The project will go quicker that way.

I couldn’t sleep last night and got up at 4am. I finished all the 4-patches necessary for my next Scrap Squad quilt. I started on cutting some of the other squares out. I need gold and green 2 1/2″ squares.  I have enough green cut, but I’ve ordered some more gold fabric and am waiting for it to come in.  I also cut a lot of 2 1/2″ x 6″ background fabric.  I need over 200 of those pieces.

Giving blood tonight (tired blood); pitching lessons on Tuesday; work Wednesday night; nothing so far on Thursday; open house for our new technology center building here at work on Friday!  Like I said – busy week!

2 Responses to “Misc. Monday”

  1. Lee October 28, 2013 at 10:27 AM #

    Gianna’s haircut is super-cute, very becoming on her.
    Trumpets (Cornets in particular) hold a special place in my heart of memories – I played one for five years prior to high school…not sure I could play a single note now, 46 years later!

    • ginaquilts October 28, 2013 at 11:18 AM #

      When he first started learning to play the trumpet I was sure that it was the most hideous sounding instrument there was. Now that he has 4 years under his belt, I can see why that instrument was his choice. It’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

