Dodec

19 Oct

Dan and I are making a rustic spinning wheel for me to try out.  It’s called a dodec because the wheel is actually a do-decagon.  We made the base this morning.

????????The intersections are wet because I applied some wood filler in the cracks then wiped it down.  It had not dried before I photographed it.  🙂  This is supposed to be a simple project but we have a way of making everything more difficult than it needs to be.

I should finish the scarf I’ve been knitting some time tonight. I’m also loading another quilt to be quilted.  It’s screaming custom also.  Of course it is…  I’m off to purchase backing because I don’t feel like piecing a back.

2 Responses to “Dodec”

  1. Nancy October 21, 2013 at 5:10 AM #

    HI Gina,
    You and your husband are so talented. Love your new spinning wheel, can’t wait to see how it looks when it is finished and especially how it works.
    Do you have any other spinning wheels?

    Since reading your posts on Good Will Sweaters, I have purchased several and am loving the concept, but am having trouble getting the seams apart.
    I see that you have some very fine gauge sweaters that you are having an easy time with taking them apart. My expeditions into that world are likely to be many hour challenges.
    Sometimes there is a chain stitch and very, very rarely can I hit the sweet spot and have it unravel the entire seam.
    Do you have any tips that would help in the process?
    Hope your week is a wonderful one.
    Onward,
    Nancy in South Carolina where cooler weather is finally coming!!

    • ginaquilts October 21, 2013 at 5:57 AM #

      Nancy, I will post a blog entry this week on how I unravel a sweater. I’ll include a lot of pictures. Start with a sweater that’s not super fine gauge and not dark in color. That will help.

      >

Leave a Reply

