Goodwill Hunting

17 Oct

I had one free hour yesterday between school and going to collate papers for the conference this weekend, so I got my oil changed.  The oil change place is right across the street from Goodwill.  🙂  I haven’t been to Goodwill in a while because, let’s face it, I have plenty of fiber purchased new and unraveled already.  Plus I have a half dozen sweaters that need unraveling!  But I stopped by anyway and MAN DID I SCORE BIG!

First up:  I could hardly contain my excitement when I found this!

????????????????Look at that label!  2-ply.  This is a nice THICK cashmere sweater.  It’s the softest thing I’ve ever felt.  It’s a Womens small.  No Sonia… you can’t have it!  I don’t think it’s your style anyway.  It would probably fit Gianna but she didn’t seem excited about it at all.  Her loss.  I wish I was a size small.  I’d wear it in an instance.  But instead I’ll gladly unravel it.  I don’t even think I’ll dye it.  Who knows.  I need to find the perfect accessory patterns for hats, scarves, gloves…. anything and everything from this baby.  The icing on the cake?  $4  ($3.95 to be exact)

I also found:

????????????????A Mens size Medum sweater – 86% silk; 14% cashmere.  I’ve been reading posts on the Ravelry.com site about people swearing by silk yarn.  I’m intrigued.  I’ve never even seen it sold in hanks.  What’s so great about it, I wondered.  Well, wonder  no more Gina – you have cob weight that you can ply and make a lovely ?? something out of.  Plus look at that orange thing attaching the tag.  It was orange day so all orange things were 1/2 off.  $2.  🙂  That’s what I paid.

I didn’t photograph the other two sweaters that came home with me.  A Mens size Large 100% merino in an olive/black.  Yucky color but couldn’t pass it up for $2.   And an olive green cashmere Women’s Large sweater.  It’s small looking for a size large.  I don’t think I’ll fit into it but I’m going to try it on and see.  Otherwise that one will dye up just fine.  It’s cob weight so I’ll ply it with another light color and see how I like that maybe.  It was full price at $4.

I scored big time.  Now I can’t go back for a while.  I need to unravel and wash/soak the kinks out of this yarn plus the stuff I have…pet it… make my family pet it…  🙂  Make my family beg for something knitted from these…  (And by family I mean my two daughters.  DH and the boys think my obsession with fiber is weirder than weird.)

 

2 Responses to “Goodwill Hunting”

  1. bsburgess October 19, 2013 at 9:50 PM #

    Awesome finds! I love the cream cashmere sweater and can’t wait to see what you do with it. I also had a great find at GW: a brand new pair of leather golf shoes (in the box) that fit like a dream. $3.75 with my 25% off coupon!

    • ginaquilts October 19, 2013 at 9:57 PM #

      Yay!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

Leave a Reply

