I’m Alive

16 Oct

Still alive and kicking and halfway through my two weeks of “What-were-you-thinking?”.  I am working or at an extra curricular function every day and every night until Friday, 10/18.  It’s been like that for two weeks solid. Then… back to normal!  Whew…

My quilt for Quiltmaker’s Scrap Squad is done – almost.  I am going to tack down the binding in the next couple of days and get the final photo taken.  Here’s a sneak peak of the back.

????????

I thought the pattern called for custom quilting.  I was a bit rusty but overall it turned out well.  Perfect gives you ulcers – done is good!  I was concentrating on getting it done.

Funny story…  I procrastinated a bit too much on this project.  It’s a simple project but I was piecing it using templates and that takes a bit more time than my usual pedal-to-the-metal strip piecing.  So two weeks before my deadline, I had a significant amount of work to do AND I have this “other” life of teaching, holding PC Tuneup Clinics, putting on a Microsoft Windows 8 and server conference… oh, and my whole mom/wife gig!  Let’s not forget that!

So I started getting up at 5:30am to get an hour or two of quilting in before work.  On Monday, the college had classes but my kids were off and I had worked all weekend at a PC Tuneup Clinic, so I took a personal day.

I got up at 6am and headed downstairs with a full cup of coffee.  I had THREE row seams left to piece and then wanted to load my quilt and get the quilting started.  Not fully awake, I missed the first step, and WHAM!  Down I tumbled!  I don’t bounce very well at age 50.  Nothing is broken but I’m pretty sore and bruised.  I’ve been adding a significant amount of padding to my backside recently, so I think that helped.  🙂

But… the show must go on.  So I picked myself up and proceeded to piece and quilt all day.  I was actually much more sore on Tuesday.  The quilt is 90% done (three days before my blog post needs to be ready for the editor).  I am tacking down the binding during my free moments and it will be photographed as soon as that’s done.  I may have to ask for an extension until Saturday to get the photos done since I need to do those outside in the sunshine and that’s when I’m away from home.

What then?  Maybe I’ll ask what our 6th and final project will be for Scrap Squad and GET AN EARLY START on it.  Don’t want to go through this last minute stuff again!

 

2 Responses to “I’m Alive”

  1. Anne WiensAnne Wiens October 16, 2013 at 9:45 AM #

    You’ve got company in the procrastination doghouse, Gina. My Scrappy Stars is going down to the wire, too.

  2. bsburgess October 16, 2013 at 9:13 PM #

    The sneak peak quilting looks great. Can’t wait to see the final product and write-up. Throwing yourself into your quilting, hey?

Leave a Reply

