What A Week!

6 Oct

Last week was a doozy!  Next week?  More of the same until Thursday when I have a free night.  However… I have to work 8am-9pm on Friday and Saturday and 8am – 6pm on Sunday!  Why?  My computer club is hosting a PC Repair Clinic and, although the students can take shifts, I have to be there the entire time the students are there.  As a result, I am taking a personal day on MONDAY!  That laundry isn’t going to do itself you know!

I haven’t been sleeping well the last few days.  One thing that was bothering me was the purple sweater.  I keep going back and forth – is it too big?  No… it’ll be fine.

????????So here it is 3/4 done and… I ripped it all out.  IT’S TOO BIG!  Quit trying to convince yourself that it will not be too big.  It’s too big!  So it’s recaked and ready for another, different FITTED sweater.  Sigh… Just three weeks of my life I’ll never get back!  But I learned something.  If in between sizes, knit the smaller size – especially if using superwash yarn.

Okay… not a big deal.  Onwards…  I got up Friday at 5:15am and decided that if I wasn’t going to sleep, it was a great morning to dye yarn.  I had previously unraveled a pale green sweater and knitted a great scarf with some of it. Well, I can’t have TWO pale green scarves, so in the Kool-Aid dye bath it went.

????????Now, this yarn is not 100% wool or animal fiber.  So I knew some of it would not absorb the dye and some would.  But what color would it turn out to be?

Cooking on the stove

Cooking on the stove

And Wha-la!  Before on the left - after on the right!

And Wha-la! Before on the left – after on the right!

The part of the yarn that was green was the plant fiber and didn’t absorb the dye.  The rest did.  So I have a teal/aqua thing going – very mottled.  🙂  A success.  450 yards and about 3 oz.  Just enough for an infinity scarf.

????????I put a twist in the infinity scarf to turn it into a moebius.  I will always wear it twisted or doubled so this made sense to me.  Gianna wants me to finish it by Monday or Tuesday so she can wear it to school.  They have to dress up on days they have basketball games.

Posting will be few and far between this week due to the hectic schedule AGAIN.  Just know that I’m knitting and quilting and will have updates eventually.

3 Responses to “What A Week!”

  1. Nancy October 6, 2013 at 8:28 AM #

    Gina,
    Thanks for the tip on the sweater sizes, that makes sense.
    Love, love the Kool Aid yarn.
    I have unraveled and reused some sweaters too and will have to try dyeing the yarn.
    What is the PVC pipe item that you have in the pic with the yarn?
    Also in the last pic, you have your yarn cake in something? What is that?
    Curious minds would love to know.
    Your schedule makes me dizzy to think about. It is a blessing that you have all your creative outlets to enjoy in the midst of all the hectic days.
    Hugs,
    Nancy in Sunny SC

    • ginaquilts October 6, 2013 at 5:46 PM #

      The PVC pipe thing is a knitty knoddy that my husband made me. It’s exactly one yard to make a hank out and count yardage. The thing I have my cake in is my cup holder built into my couch.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. bsburgess October 6, 2013 at 9:24 AM #

    Glad you survived! You need a vacation.

Leave a Reply

