What’s Happening

7 Sep

I started a new scarf from an unraveled sweater.

20130907-150207.jpg
The yarn is from a sweater that has the contents of 35% wool, 35% viscose (anyone know what that is?), 15% nylon, 10% silk, and 5% cashmere. Even though its only 10% silk, the yarn feels like pure silk. I had to manipulate the picture to get it close to the actual color. It’s a light mottled green. It almost has an opulent feel to it. I really like working with this yarn. The sweater was a Goodwill purchase two years ago – less than $4.00 for the whole shebang. One of the reasons I like knitting scarves is so I can use this bargain yarn. Plus I do wear them to work.

School is going great for both kids and me. Gianna made the basketball team. She is also on the speech team. Both kids really like/liked the speech team.

Dj had his first football game yesterday. No, he doesn’t play football. He plays in the band! The first home game means he played a few tunes between the JV and varsity games.

20130907-151257.jpg
DJ is the second trumpeter from the left in this picture. He’s also a second trumpet which means he doesn’t play the melody but the harmony. The band is small – only about 20-25 in it. Like all small schools, you have to do it all. So you see JV football players finish the game and come play; cheerleaders; kids who were working the t-shirt stands. That’s why not everyone has a uniform on.

I haven’t worked on the new quilt all week. I think I’ll spend some time on it tonight and tomorrow. I’ll post pictures when I can.

4 Responses to “What’s Happening”

  1. Jenn Embry September 7, 2013 at 8:05 PM #

    Beautiful scarf! I bet it feels heavenly. Viscose typically refers to bamboo.

    • ginaquilts September 7, 2013 at 8:19 PM #

      Thanks for letting me know. Wikipedia said “wood pulp” so that makes sense.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Patti September 13, 2013 at 11:32 AM #

    I apologize if this seems like I’m correcting Jenn; I want to make sure you have all the information you want. Viscose refers to rayon. Viscose rayon is actually the oldest man-made fiber. It was first produced in the US in 1910 by a company called “American Viscose”. Unlike most all the other man-made fibers of the 20th century it is not a synthetic, as it is made from wood pulp rather than petrolium or similar chemicals. I was often called “poor man’s silk” as it was inexpensive to produce but could have a luxurous, silky feel and was used in taffita, satin and velvets. It could also feel like cotton – the feel being determined by the exact manufacturing process. That is why your yarn feels so silky.

    • ginaquilts September 13, 2013 at 1:18 PM #

      Thanks Patti! I love the feel of the scarf and now I know why!

Leave a Reply

