More Canning

14 Aug

Canned more peaches today.

????????We canned another 24 pints so that makes 50 pints in total.  My oldest daughter wanted some and she was going to come over to help and see how to do it.  But, her schedule at work got changed and so it was just my mom, my youngest daughter and I again.  We’ve got an assembly line down pat so it went quickly.  The last 6 jars are in the canner now and we’re totally cleaned up.  I timed it this time – 2 hours up to this point.  The last batch still has to boil then cook for 20 minutes.

I had to get up early and take DJ to his first golf team practice.  Yes, you read that right.  DJ went out for the golf team.  Does he play golf?  No.  He has practiced with me a few times in the yard.  But his school has a “freshman-no-cut” policy.  There were about 6 guys who knew how to play and 6 who didn’t.  He liked it and will go to practice every day this week at 7am.

Yesterday was his “freshman orientation”.  He loved it.  We had a parents’ meeting at night.  It was great.  Tonight there is a sports-parents’ meeting that I wasn’t planning on going to but now that he’s in golf – I’m going I guess.  🙂

Since I was up and it was cool outside this morning, I made 7 half-pints of strawberry jam.  I freeze that.  It’s low sugar but I don’t do the no-sugar method because it didn’t set up well last time I tried it.  We are totally out of jam as of last week.  Blueberries are on sale and so are blackberries.  I may try to get a batch of that done this weekend.

Not much sewing to report on.  Busy, busy, busy with family things!

One Response to “More Canning”

  1. Lee August 17, 2013 at 10:02 AM #

    I have fond memories of helping my grandmother can peaches. Those look so yummy.

Leave a Reply

