WIPs

12 Aug

Here are my WIPs (Works in Progress).

1.  Gianna’s Bed Quilt

????????

I’ve decided to make it 6 x 6 which will come out to 84″ x 84″.  To make it fit her bed, I’ll have to put 6″ border(s) around the outside.  I have 12 of the 36 blocks done – that’s 1/3!  🙂  I am also sewing the rows together as I go because I can’t move the blocks around once I’ve decided which link they attach to (which you do while creating the block).  The top right block might need some unsewing.  The link is purple and the pinwheel border is purple and I’m not sure there’s enough contrast between them.  Maybe…. I have to decide before doing the block below it.   I hate unsewing.  🙂

2.  Hand Quilting the Christmas Quilt

????????I have finished the background quilting in (almost) three blocks!  Now that’s exciting because the plan was to do a block a week and I have three blocks done this week!  I know I’ll burn out and slow down but while the air conditioning is on and it’s not too hot to lay this quilt with the wool batting across my legs, I’m going to keep at it.

School starts with two days of meetings for me on Thursday and Friday.  Classes officially start on Monday for all three of us.  I have one lab prepared – all the drives are ghosted.  I haven’t started the other lab.  That’s this week’s project.  I have first day materials (syllabi, etc) all set up for all my classes.  As far as the kids go, they have supplies and haircuts and clothes – they are ready to go too.

2 Responses to “WIPs”

  1. Lee August 12, 2013 at 8:26 AM #

    I really like the interlocking effect of Gianna’s Bed Quilt, and the colors are nice too 🙂
    You’re coming along nicely on the Christmas piece. Hand quilting is still something on my unofficial ‘bucket list’ of to-do’s.

    • ginaquilts August 12, 2013 at 9:13 AM #

      Try the big stitch. It goes quickly and small stitches don’t matter.

Leave a Reply

