Bonus Quilt

29 Jul

When I was piecing the last two quilts, I had another one that I was using for leaders and enders.  The quilt had 512 2.5″ squares that had to be sewn together in scrappy reds and blues so it was the perfect candidate for this type of sewing.  I have only one step left on this quilt before putting the top together and I’m working on that step this morning.  I couldn’t resist putting it up on my design wall!

????????

I like it!  So simple yet so scrappy and really makes a statement, don’t you think?  The pattern is called “Gettysburg” and it was a mystery held by a Yahoo! group I belong to online called “MysteryQuilts4Military”.  I am pleased to say that I used all my red and blue strips and scraps from my 2.5″ bin for this quilt.  I actually need to cut more because there isn’t a red or blue square to be found in that bin!  There are 16 stars in total and they are half done.  I should be able to finish this top and add some border this week.  I can see some custom quilting one, can’t you?

3 Responses to “Bonus Quilt”

  1. bsburgess July 30, 2013 at 6:41 AM #

    POW!

  2. Margaret July 31, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

    What do you mean by leaders & enders?

    • ginaquilts July 31, 2013 at 9:01 PM #

      Instead of cutting the thread when going from one piece to the next, you feed one of these small blocks through. Some people use small scraps that they call spiders and they waste that piece by sewing over and over again on that one piece so they don’t have to break the thread. I feed something small like these 2.5″ squares through so I get additional sewing done without knowing it. Bonnie Hunter coined the term I think. She wrote a book called leaders and enders.

Leave a Reply

