Stripes

19 Jul

I’m back to working on my Scrap Squad Quilt #4.  It’s due sooner than I thought so I need to get the remaining 5 blocks done this weekend so I can work on putting the top together next week.

I don’t often work with stripes.  I LOVE plaid or checked fabric but don’t use a lot of striped fabric.  One of the reason why is that it’s absolutely necessary for the stripes to all be facing the same direction.  That can be easy on some quilts but not so easy on others.

Take this Scrap Squad quilt I’m working on.  If I use stripes for one unit it’s important that I place TWO striped units going horizontally and TWO striped units going vertically like shown below.

????????Looks like it’s not correct but when these units go into the actual block, they are perfect.

????????See what I mean?  So I have to be very aware of directional prints or stripes for these particular units.

On the health front, my first phase of my root canal went fine.  However on the morning of the second phase, I cracked my tooth below the gum line! My luck huh?  He says he believes there’s enough left to put in the post and crown though.  I hope so.  Today the entire side of my mouth is sore and it’s hard to eat.  I should lose weight but I know there are just too many bad foods that are soft!  🙂

2 Responses to “Stripes”

  1. bsburgess July 21, 2013 at 11:43 AM #

    Glad you’re paying attention to the strips because that would bother me too. Bummer on the tooth :o(

  2. hardenbrookgirl July 22, 2013 at 12:27 PM #

    When I looked at antique quilts I noticed the stripes go every which way.. Apparently, when our foremothers used scraps they had no choice – they cut the way the shape of the scrap allowed them to- some with the stripes at odd angles. I loved the quirkiness of this, so long ago decided I’d do the same In my quilts. If it bothers you then by all means pay attention to the stripe directions. I just wanted to mention that there are no “rules” for this – except for the rules you set for yourself..

Leave a Reply

