Party and Piecing

14 Jul

We had a small get-together last night to celebrate DJ’s graduation (finally).  He had a half dozen friends over to swim and play video games.  We had our families over for pizza and to celebrate with us.  It was nice and I had my camera out but didn’t take ANY photographs at all.  The important thing to blog about is that my oldest daughter’s boyfriend and I were the corn hole champs.  🙂  Everything else to that was secondary.

I am still piecing the next Scrap Squad quilt.  We have some paper piecing units that are the same as the second Scrap Squad quilt.  I’m getting pretty good at those units!  🙂

I use a lot of plaids and stripes when I piece and thought I’d post what I do to get the paper piecing lined up.

????????In the picture above, I cut on the “cutting line” of the paper piecing pattern.  Then I can line up the stripe of one of the plaids on this line perfectly.

????????See?  It lines up pretty well.  It works for stripes going horizontally also.  For vertical lines, I draw a line down the center of the spike and line up a stripe with that.

Since I am doing a lot of paper piecing, I’m using a leader and ender of Bonnie Hunter’s “Wild and Goosey” from a past issue of Quiltmaker magazine.  I have all these messy scraps that are pretty small but can be used in these itty bitty paper pieced blocks.

Did I mention the scraps were messy?

Did I mention the scraps were messy?

I have another dozen of these somewhere but I can't seem to remember which bin they are in!

I have another dozen of these somewhere but I can’t seem to remember which bin they are in!

Did I mention that these finish at 3″?  🙂

2 Responses to “Party and Piecing”

  1. cac19az July 14, 2013 at 5:25 PM #

    I love how accurate and sharp your points are.

  2. bsburgess July 14, 2013 at 6:25 PM #

    Rah, rah to the corn hole winners! I love the wild goose chase paper piecing. Just like my civil war quilt. Good tip about the plaid. Bugs me when plaid pieces are not straight; especially borders!

Leave a Reply

