No Blogging For A While

3 Jul

Been busy!  Busy, busy, busy!

I swear I’m more busy in the summer when I don’t go to work everyday than in the other 9 months when I do work.

Gianna’s All-Star city softball team won their district tournament.

photoShe pitches and plays first base and second base for this team.  The next step is sectionals and that starts on Friday.  That’s keeping us really busy.  I help with practices but declined a coaching spot.  Too much pressure!  I can barely breathe when she’s pitching and I’m a fan that can get up and walk around if necessary!  She runs hot and cold with her pitching but the rest of her fielding and hitting is really great.

I started two new quilting projects.  One is the next Scrap Squad quilt.  I’m going with an Americana look.  I have 11 of the 18 blocks finished.  I like it so far.  The second is “Love Entwined” by Esther Aliu. She is recreating a “coverlet” from a 1790’s quilt.  It’s HEAVILY appliqued.  I won’t do all of it.  I think it’s too busy.  But I do like parts of it and so I’ll pick and choose what to add where.  The center is a Mariner’s Compass.  I changed her original to make it simpler and paper pieced it.

????????I can critique it up the wazoo – the yellow points are probably a little too light; etc.  But it’s good enough so far.  I don’t know if you can tell, but before I remove the paper from the back of round shapes, I stay-stitch the edges.  It prevents distortion when removing the paper.  Also, since I appliqued the center and will applique or reverse applique the next round, it gives me a built in line to follow.  Of course, my compass seems to be about 1/4″ larger than it’s supposed to be.  Of course.  The next round is a circle with dots appliqued around.  And the next round has to fit perfectly for applique.  So I think I’ll wait til the next step comes out and see how much play room I have.

I’ll try to blog more often.  Take a few minutes to keep this blog up to date… 🙂

Leave a Reply

