Problems

3 Jun

I can’t catch a break here!  I’m behind on my quilting projects and missed two self-imposed deadlines.  My Scrap Squad #3 quilt is due on Friday and I just haven’t had my mo-jo on to finish it.  I just can’t get the bulky seams to lie flat and have busted numerous needles.  I think I even cracked my take up needle bar on my featherweight when I ran over a bulky seam with a hidden pin in it.  The top is only a wall hanging and I got the middle done.  No borders.  It’s not going to have any borders I’m afraid.  The middle is a B cup – maybe even a C cup.  I don’t know what’s going on with it and at this point, it just needs to get finished.  I can quilt it with poly batting and some loose overall feathers and it will be fine.

This morning I got up to load the darned thing on the longarm and my basement was flooded.  The hot water heater sprung a leak during the night and was pouring water into our very messy basement.  So that became a priority.  Mopping it up – cleaning the basement enough to have someone come to fix it.  Ughhhh!

I store my UFOs near the water heater area so I took some time to figure out what’s what and make decisions – pitch it (you’ll never finish this) or keep it and try to find time to finish it soon.  Soon = within the year.

Here are two on the design wall.

????????

I got the fabric for the left quilt top in Vegas over 10 years ago.  I had quite a few cutting errors and it’s a simple easy peasy top!  But I could salvage enough of what’s left to make a small quilt.

The one on the right?  It’s too dark.  Too yuck.

I was convinced to throw away the mini-Dresden fans and put the yellow and blue one on the TO DO list.  My 12yo daughter voted the opposite though.  But I’m sticking to my guns.  I’ve got way too many projects that are UFOs right now.  Dozens.  Not to mention that I have deadlines that aren’t getting any extensions and have to take priority!  (I didn’t load the Scrap Squad top yet.  The longarm is holding all this UFO stuff while the hot water heater gets replaced.)

Tomorrow.  Tomorrow the quilt will get quilted and bound and the article written.  Tomorrow….  I promise.

4 Responses to “Problems”

  1. Aunt Marti June 3, 2013 at 4:24 PM #

    Gina! Send the dresdens to me! I’ll finish it, or use the blocks for something else! (like a sewing machine cover?)

  2. hardenbrookgirl June 3, 2013 at 10:15 PM #

    I, too, don’t want you to throw the Dresdens out. There are wonderful things you could do to brighten them. They look like little blocks, so I’d turn them into bigger blocks. Use them for the center or any block with a square in the middle – log cabin, churn dash, shoo fly, etc. Use brighter colors on the rest of the block and these will spring to life. I know – I’ve had to do this with sets of little blocks. And each time I’ve loved the finished quilt!

  3. bsburgess June 4, 2013 at 8:24 PM #

    Gina, I’ll take the Dresdens and make a small baby quilt! Although I’m not a fan of that pattern, you probably did a great job on them.

  4. bsburgess June 4, 2013 at 8:25 PM #

    A real bummer on the water heater leak. Nothing like Murphy’s Law when you’re in a pinch to get things done.

Leave a Reply

