Hand Quilting Blog Hop

13 May

There’s a Facebook group and blog that celebrates hand quilting.  Since I’m trying to teach myself how to hand quilt, I joined the group.  Today is the first day of their “blog hop” where people can show their hand quilting work.  I don’t have a lot to show since I don’t do a lot of hand quilting!  But I can show the little bit that I’ve tried to do over the years.

I have a hand pieced hexagon quilt that just needs borders.

????????

I pieced it using Inklingo.  I will applique it to the borders I think.

SONY DSC

There’s this clam shell quilt wall hanging that’s been in the works forever.  It’s still in the works.  I think I should have stitched in the ditch because the 1/4″ outline quilting is making my applique edges lift up and I can now see the stitches that were hidden before.

I really enjoy big stitch quilting.  I worked on this fall wallhanging earlier in the year.  It’s become one of my favorites.

2012-10-15 12.52.24

 

Another big stitch wall hanging from leftover blocks and a pillow.

S

S

S

I’m learning and having fun trying out different techniques.

32 Responses to “Hand Quilting Blog Hop”

  1. averyclaire May 13, 2013 at 5:28 AM #

    Love your quilts and the quilting is superb! Very nice work. Amazing.

  2. Kathi May 13, 2013 at 5:30 AM #

    Gina, thanks for sharing all your work… love your WIP a lot and the pillow is darling and the wall hanging from leftovers is great! Thanks for sharing! Kathi

  3. Liz May 13, 2013 at 5:34 AM #

    Very nice. I have been thinking about trying it!

  4. rosa May 13, 2013 at 6:22 AM #

    Love your quilt and your handquilting is just beautiful!!

    Greetings from Sapin

  5. Emily May 13, 2013 at 6:27 AM #

    Thanks for sharing your quilting. I love your log cabin quilt that’s a bit further down the page. I’ve learned to quilt by just ‘trying it out’ too.

  6. Marjorie May 13, 2013 at 6:49 AM #

    Looking great. I need to try some more big stitch. Yours is very inspiring.

  7. Karen May 13, 2013 at 6:50 AM #

    love your work – love hexies, and clamshells – nice to see that you are using Inklingo as well and hand quilting.!!

  8. Life on a Dirt Road May 13, 2013 at 7:11 AM #

    Visiting from the Facebook page blog hop! Love your Hexies.
    ~ Carol in Michigan

  9. Pat Taylor May 13, 2013 at 8:03 AM #

    Gina – your hexies rule! Great colors and wonderful to see your hand quilting!

  10. Belarmina May 13, 2013 at 8:19 AM #

    me gusta!!!!
    saludos
    Gijjon( España)

  11. Belarmina May 13, 2013 at 8:23 AM #

    lo siento!!!
    mi ciudad es
    Gijon (España)

  12. Linda May 13, 2013 at 8:52 AM #

    Beautiful quilting and love your quilts!!

  13. Rose Marie May 13, 2013 at 8:55 AM #

    Your hand quilting is lovely! For your clam shells, you can go back and do stitch in the ditch after you are done your other quilting.

  14. Ann-Mari Duffy May 13, 2013 at 9:45 AM #

    Love your quilting. I am new to your blog. Like what I see, and will come back again.
    I live in Norway

  15. Rose May 13, 2013 at 11:22 AM #

    I’m on the blog hop today and I scrolled down through your blog. You have made so many beautiful quilts! I’ve completed one hexie quilt and I’m working on two more, love your colorful garden.

  16. audrey May 13, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

    Love your work, esp. your clam shell quilt! Beautiful.

  17. Sandy White May 13, 2013 at 12:41 PM #

    I love your work. So glad you are on this blog hop and I have an opportunity to visit. I too have fallen in love with hexagons and hope to have something to show for it on my own blog. Best wises to you.

  18. Carla May 13, 2013 at 1:12 PM #

    I think you are well on your way. Your work is beautiful, it shows that you love doing !

  19. Shirley Suter May 13, 2013 at 4:40 PM #

    It’s wonderful to see your lovely work. It’s all so well executed and shows your attention to details. Beautiful!

  20. Penny May 13, 2013 at 4:41 PM #

    Love the clam shell quilt!! It’s all so pretty!

  21. barbara May 13, 2013 at 4:46 PM #

    You did a great job on all your projects. Keep up the great work babscorbitt@gmail.com

  22. Julie Fukuda May 13, 2013 at 5:50 PM #

    Thanks for the lovely “show and tell”. It’s fun to get to know other hand quilters better.

  23. Bertha Mallard May 13, 2013 at 6:21 PM #

    Thanks for sharing your quilts with us. Keep up the good work and enjoy the journey.

  24. Jill May 13, 2013 at 9:06 PM #

    Your quilts look great! I have always wanted to make a clam shell quilt.

  25. Kathleen C May 14, 2013 at 6:19 AM #

    Your quilts look lovely-thank you for showing them for our enjoyment. I love hand quilting; it’s peaceful and calming and the results are worth the effort. Maybe some day I’ll do a clam shell like yours–wonderful work!

  26. Dawn May 14, 2013 at 7:14 AM #

    Beautiful hand quilting! Thank you for sharing.

  27. Peg Miller May 14, 2013 at 9:02 AM #

    Thanks for sharing. I too would like to try the big stitch, seems like it would go much faster as I am the world’s slowest hand quilter!
    Peg from South Dakota

  28. Sue May 14, 2013 at 11:54 AM #

    I’d say you have plenty to show! Your hand quilting is really pretty! I do like that big stitch hand quilting too. I need to do more of that. It’s a sweet and simple look. Very wonderful work!

  29. Terri Balken May 14, 2013 at 2:12 PM #

    Hi, blog-hopping from SW Missouri! Your hexagon quilt took my breath away! The colors are amazing! Thank you for sharing your work!

  30. Nancy May 15, 2013 at 8:34 AM #

    Just love your work.

  31. sewfrench May 15, 2013 at 3:57 PM #

    Well, you are coming along beautifully! I would never have guessed that you have just started! Love the clamshell quilt. I’ve never done that, but I have quilted quilts where I had the same issue and I think I did just as you suggested by stitching in the ditch. Wish I could remember which one it was!

  32. Quilter Kathy June 5, 2013 at 6:04 PM #

    Beautiful projects…love the clam shells 🙂

Leave a Reply

