Seventeen

2 Apr

Good news!  I laid out the log cabin quilt that I’m hand quilting with big stitches and I have 17 of the 39 blocks quilted!  DONE!  I thought there were less.  🙂  Here are pictures of the front and back.

????????

????????

I’ve asked before but still don’t know the answer.  Is it all wrinkly in the back because I am not hooping it?  I assume that’s it.  Or that my basting isn’t close enough.  Or that I’m pulling out the basting before I should. Oh well.  I like the primitive look of the quilting and it’s very fun to do.  With the warmer weather approaching (if spring ever actually arrives in Illinois), I won’t want to hand quilt with this on my lap for it will be too hot.  My goal is to get it done by the end of May.  I would LOVE to be able to quilt 3 more this week so I can say I’m half done with the blocks officially.  But I have a meeting or other activity every night this week and I work during the day so I will have to fit in a partial block here and there I guess.

The only reason I was able to stitch a block this morning is because Gianna slept over a friend’s house last night and called me at 5am to pick her up – she is sick.  She had the stomach flu this past Friday.  Dan and DJ have been battling a bad cold.  Now it seems that Gianna has that bad cold.  The child will spend her entire break sick I’m afraid.  Since she doesn’t have school, she can lay in bed all day and catch up with her sleep.  That will help significantly.

Off to work I go today.

2 Responses to “Seventeen”

  1. Karen April 2, 2013 at 7:19 AM #

    as a hand quilter that uses a hoop I do not think your back is too wrinkly – it looks great to me – I like crinkly 🙂 if you plan on washing and drying the quilt it will be that way anyhow. Love this quilt

  2. Sonia April 2, 2013 at 2:33 PM #

    I think it looks great.

Leave a Reply

