Hexagons

18 Mar

I went to a local quilt show this weekend.  I bought a kit to make 3/8″ hexagons via English Paper Piecing.  I passed on the 1/4″ size!  🙂  I want to make a miniature version of this quilt that I saw online.

2012-06-17 19.08.48

Maybe…. or maybe a medallion with the star in the center.  I don’t know yet.  I haven’t had success with English Paper Piecing in the past.  I whip stitched the pieces together and the stitches showed from the front.  However, this vendor was doing a demo and she had a technique where the stitches didn’t show.  I was sold.  And bit the bullet to purchase the cardboard and some Civil War fabrics in a kit.  If it doesn’t work out, I have some nice Civil war strips and pieces to add to my collection.

I liked this quilt that a former guild member pieced using Bonnie Hunter’s pattern.

Pardon the people - but SHIRTS!

Pardon the people – but SHIRTS!

Those light shirts are hard to find.  I need to hit Goodwill and add to my collection.  If I pieced this one as is, I will bring my plaid shirt quilts up to FOUR (4) quilts in this past year.  🙂  I don’t know why I love them so much but I do.  The fabric is pretty much reversible with no right side and wrong side.  They are manly – not floral and girly.  And they wash up great for softness and snuggliness.  (Spell check says snuggliness is not a word.  Silly spell check.)

No new piecing projects this week.  I put together a lot of bow tie blocks as leader and enders.  I’m going to put that quilt top on the design wall and add the new pieces and see where I stand on that one.  I have to go to play practice tonight to help out backstage.  If needed, I’ll go Tuesday and Wednesday also.  I teach during the day (spring break is over) and on Thursday night.  The actual play is on Friday night.  Then we head up to Northern Illinois University for DJ to compete in the regional science fair.  Then THAT’S IT FOR QUITE A WHILE!  No more play… no more scholastic bowl (until regionals in late April)….  Home every night….  Well, I can dream, can’t I?

3 Responses to “Hexagons”

  1. Karen March 18, 2013 at 10:26 AM #

    would be interested in how you do EPP without the stitches showing. I hand stitch hexagons with no paper, just doing regular hand piecing. EPP has intrigued me but I too don’t like the stitches showing

    • ginaquilts March 18, 2013 at 11:03 AM #

      I’ll try it out and post pictures of the vendor’s technique. I also use Inklingo to hand piece the hexies because I’ve struggled with that in the past.

      Gina

      ________________________________

  2. bsburgess March 18, 2013 at 8:21 PM #

    I really love that hexagon quilt setting. I have some civil war 6 inch squares someone gave me that I’ll give you. I might have some light plaid shirtings you can have too.

Leave a Reply

