Day 1

11 Mar

I’ve been under the weather health-wise and haven’t done any piecing or quilting in a few days.  I’m feeling better today and get some stuff accomplished.  The heading “Day 1” refers to the fact that this is the first day of my spring break!  I did get quite a bit done on my #2 Scrap Squad quilt top.  I only have 14 more blocks to piece.  It is my goal to finish the top over break and get the quilting started.

What else is going on?

I finished the log cabin quilt top.

SONY DSC

I like this setting.  I can play up the 3D look with the quilting I think.  Although my borders look a bit “friendly” – waving away at me in this picture.  I’ll do some measuring and see if they might need to be re-sewn.  It turned out long and skinny – hence the fat side borders and skinny top/bottom borders.  I think that if I hadn’t pointed that out, you wouldn’t have noticed.

I was really thinking about just basting this one on the longarm and hand quilting it with the big stitch quilting method.  I don’t know – maybe I still will.  Even with using big stitch, I’d still have to realize that this will take a long time.  PLUS, I have a hand applique project (baskets), a hand quilting project (clamshells), and I’m finishing knitting a lace scarf.

On the family front, Gianna was in a piano competition on Saturday.  She messed up in the beginning and scored a second.  We got the judge’s comment sheet back today and she was ONE POINT away from a first!  🙂  One point ruined our whole ride home with a pouty kid!

Tomorrow is day 1 of a two day scholastic bowl tournament that involves DJ only.  Not much sewing will get done so I have to go sew now.

3 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. antarabesque March 11, 2013 at 6:46 PM #

    I love that quilt! Nice job.

  2. Lee March 12, 2013 at 10:02 AM #

    Very pretty! I really like the red, and the layout in general. I love Log Cabins and hope to be starting one soon.

    • ginaquilts March 12, 2013 at 10:52 AM #

      Thanks! It’s a great way to use up scraps. My 1 1/2″ bins are slimmed down considerably.

      Gina

Leave a Reply

