Burned Out

3 Mar

I’m burned out and tired.  Thursday I worked my normal marathon day having both day and night classes.  I turned around on Friday and worked until noon by opening the lab for students to get caught up and for me to grade.  I did some running around to get my son some new khakis and my daughter a new coat during a one-day sale.  I had to go back to work at 3:30 and worked until 9pm.  Our student computer club had a PC repair clinic and the public could drop off their PCs and the students will clean them up and recommend any updates.  We were really busy with the drop off and starting the virus scanning/cleaning all Friday night.  I think we checked in 14 computers.  That’s a good number to work on.

The students showed back up on Saturday morning at 7am but I didn’t have to supervise on Saturday.  Instead, I dropped DJ off for a Scholastic Bowl tournament at 7am.  I came home and got ready myself and Dan and I took off at 8am.  We spent 10 hours at the tournament.  DJ was spent!  His team played well especially since two of the main players were missing.  DJ had to really “carry” the team in their absence.  That sounds bad but what I mean is that DJ couldn’t take a break from being captain and from playing at all.  For a 14yo boy with a short attention span, it was taxing.  The good news is that his team placed 4th out of the 8 in the “A” class.  Two of the ones they lost were close up to the end and they only lost by a question or two.  DJ ended up getting an individual trophy for answering so many toss up questions. He was top on his team and third overall.  I think his team could have won the tournament if the two other players would have been there.

Anyway, I woke up this morning with the onset of a cold.  I have a sore throat and a bit of a stuffy nose.

I finished the plaid quilt.  I don’t really care for how it turned out.  I knitted a hat yesterday during the wait time in the tournament and that didn’t turn out well either.  I think I’m just burned out and need to take a break from the constant go-go-go, do-do-do.  I took a nap this afternoon and am just vegging tonight.  We are expecting ANOTHER snow storm tomorrow.  That should be the last of winter for us though.

I’ll post pictures of stuff when I get around to snapping them.  Until then, I’m just going to do nothing for a while.

One Response to “Burned Out”

  1. bsburgess March 3, 2013 at 7:06 PM #

    You deserve a nice break. Hope you get to bed early!

Leave a Reply

