Snow

27 Feb

We got our share of snow yesterday.  I cancelled my classes before the college made the official cancellation notice.  I had to take Gianna in to get a P.E. excuse for her pulled hamstring and it took longer than expected.  PLUS I already had 6 emails from students telling me they were not risking it by coming in.  When many students don’t come in, I have to re-teach anyway.  PLUS I only got 3 hours of sleep the night before.

What did I do during this snow day?

HOMEWORK!  I prepped for my routers class.

And I bound this quilt that two women made from work.

????????

I quilted it this weekend but didn’t have a chance to bind it.

New binding technique worked well again

New binding technique worked well again

I’m happy to report that it wasn’t beginner’s luck on how the first “new” binding technique went so smoothly.  This one posed no problems either.

Sample Blocks

Sample Blocks

This quilt isn’t a t-shirt quilt but each square is printed on “fabric paper”.  The pictures were designed by our college’s graphic arts students to represent what respect means to each of them.  The words were from each college department (or in the case above the president of the college) to tell what respect means to them.  The purple fabric has the word respect in various languages.  It’s a nice quilt.  I quilted it with Lava variegated thread and the star swirl pattern.  The binding fabric is also the backing fabric.  It’s wild and crazy and I LIKE IT!  🙂

 

 

One Response to “Snow”

  1. Rachaeldaisy March 3, 2013 at 1:43 PM #

    What a great quilt. It’s always great to hear scool students are doing projects like this. I love your choice of quilting pattern.

Leave a Reply

