Attention Quilters

23 Feb

You must try this binding technique that I mentioned in the last post!

It’s called “Susie’s Magic Binding” and HERE is the link to Marti’s tutorial.

I’ve tried other machine binding techniques and they are “okay”.  This is flawless.  I can’t see where I tacked it in place.  It finishes professionally.  It mitered perfectly.  I can’t say enough about how great this is!

Stitching in the ditch between the false flange and the binding.

Stitching in the ditch between the false flange and the binding.

Mitering the corner

Mitering the corner

Two things:

  1. Sew VERY slowly.  My machine asked me if my sister, Sonia the Tortoise, was sewing instead of me.  She is the SLOWEST (and most accurate) sewer I know.  But slow and steady guarantees there isn’t any accidental sewing on the binding instead of in the ditch.  It also helped me keep everything smooth.
  2. Measure the width of the binding before you miter that last piece.  Mine was 2 3/4″ – not 2 1/4″ or 2 1/2″ like I usually use.  I almost cut the piece too short!
  3. Okay – I know I said TWO – but….  I thought when I was making the binding that the “false flange” was too small or narrow.  Give it a chance.  I liked it once it was completed.

And now my tumbling blocks quilt is entirely done!  No hand stitching necessary!  Where are the pictures?  Too late and not enough light to photograph tonight.  I’ll post both the Strawberry Lemonade quilt and the Tumbling Blocks quilt tomorrow during the sunlight hours.  🙂

Now… go try it!

2 Responses to “Attention Quilters”

  1. Christa February 24, 2013 at 7:50 AM #

    I used this technique yesterday and was very impressed!! Definitely will be using it on my next quilt!

  2. Sonia February 24, 2013 at 4:38 PM #

    I read the instructions but need to read again because I’m not getting it yet. You may be getting a phone call 🙂

Leave a Reply

