Progress

18 Feb

I’d say that these are finishes, but they are not.  Closer… but not quite done yet.

First, I finally finished quilting my tumbling blocks quilt.  Here are more pictures than you want to see.

Full Shot (Can't see the quilting though)

Full Shot (Can’t see the quilting though)

You can see the texture in this one

You can see the texture in this one

Better quilting picture.  Freehand feathers going left one row and then right the next

Better quilting picture. Freehand feathers going left one row and then right the next

 

Better view of the quilting on the solid-ish borders.

Better view of the quilting on the solid-ish borders.

I really love this quilt and plan on making another some time.  Tumbling blocks is one of my favorite patterns.  It’s so graphic and I love playing with the fabric values.

Now what to bind it in?  I have the border fabric cut into 2.5″ strips ready for binding.  But that border fabric is kind of thick and I don’t know if I’ll like hand stitching it down.  What other suggestions do you have?

The next almost-finish is the hexagon flower quilt top that I’ve been hand piecing off and on since May 2012.

51" x 65" - 165 flowers

51″ x 65″ – 165 flowers

I’m going to stop there and put on borders.  So how do I do that?  Just cut through some of the flowers making it square?  Or add a solid set of hexagons and half-hexagons to make it square?  I think i set it cockeyed so I’m not sure the second option will actually square it up.  Any suggestions on a border color for this top?

 

 

5 Responses to “Progress”

  1. Karen February 18, 2013 at 9:00 AM #

    love the tumbling blocks! I’ve seen the flowers finished off numerous ways – appliqued onto a border, cut straight on the edges ect. I don’t know if cutting straight on the edges would work right for this one – you depends on how much you would need to cut off I guess – it always comes back to personal choice – I’m sure it will look good no matter what you decide.

  2. bsburgess February 18, 2013 at 10:08 AM #

    Wow, your Tumbling Blocks makes me rethink “I’m not a fan of Tumbling Blocks.” It really looks great! Nothing makes me like Grammother’s Flowers…except Sunbonnet Sue! How about scrappy binding?

    • mosaicthinking February 18, 2013 at 3:45 PM #

      Amen to your comment on hexies and Sunbonnet Sue. Sue and Sam are the absolute worst, in my book. (Except for the death of Sunbonnet Sue quilt, which is the only exception. That one makes me laugh, though it’s kind of a documentary work.)

      • ginaquilts February 18, 2013 at 4:07 PM #

        I never liked hexagons but now I’m into them. Still don’t love Sue though.

  3. mosaicthinking February 18, 2013 at 3:42 PM #

    I got that book for the Tumbling Blocks pattern and am looking forward to making it if time ever permits. Have to agree though that there’s not much else in the book that appeals. And the tumbling blocks pattern was the only one that had an errata insert to correct mistakes, Shame, that.

Leave a Reply

