Science Fair

16 Feb

It’s the weekend before the science fair so everyone is putting their backboards together. The girl team finished theirs this morning. The boys are starting theirs in a half hour. They both use my quilting tools. Can’t beat a rotary cutter and square rulers to get everything lined up perfectly. I also have a center 0 ruler that is helpful.

On the quilting front, my 1 1/2″ strip bins were overflowing. In fact, I had to make a second bin for the dark strips. What to do about that? Make some log cabin blocks of course. I sat down and whipped up these 24 blocks yesterday.

20130216-133054.jpg

20130216-133102.jpg

20130216-133110.jpg

I like the barn raising setting best but I always use that setting. The furrows are my second favorite I think.

What can I do with 24 ten-inch blocks? Nothing. Too small to make a top out of it. Another UFO! Oh well. I’ll make more when the bins overflow again. Right now I’m back to one bin of each – lights and darks. They have a lot of short pieces in them. As I add more scraps, I’ll make another half dozen log cabin blocks and they will grow in no time.

3 Responses to “Science Fair”

  1. Karen February 16, 2013 at 2:21 PM #

    something about log cabins always catch my eye! love it!

  2. Sonia February 16, 2013 at 8:36 PM #

    Wow! I can’t believe how quick you kick the blocks out. I love the barn raising setting too. I on the other hand spent an hour frogging!

  3. Christa February 17, 2013 at 8:29 AM #

    Beautiful blocks! Crazy how something so simple can be stunning!

Leave a Reply

